Bay Planning Coalition Names Sam Schuchat as 2017 Frank C. Boerger Award Recipient



April 13, 2017


Bay Planning Coalition Names Sam Schuchat as 2017 Frank C. Boerger Award Recipient

Head of California State Coastal Conservancy will be recognized as part of BPC’s Spring Summit event in Oakland on May 11

Oakland, CA – (April 13, 2017): Bay Planning Coalition (BPC) is pleased to announce that Sam Schuchat, Executive Officer for the California State Coastal Conservancy, will receive the 2017 Frank C. Boerger Award at BPC’s signature annual Spring Summit event on May 11 at the Oakland Scottish Rite Center.

The Frank C. Boerger Award, named after a founding director of BPC, is given each year to an individual who appreciates the rigors of advocating environmental protection and economic progress, and forges a path to achieve both. The recipient is a person who is passionate in their convictions, balanced in their judgment, and talented in bringing diverse interests and stakeholders together.

With an extensive background in fundraising and nonprofit management, Mr. Schuchat has led multiple state and national organizations, including as Executive Director for the Federation of State Conservation Voter Leagues and the California League of Conservation Voters. He has also served on the California Fish and Game Commission and was Secretary to the Ocean Protection Council. In addition to his current role, Mr. Schuchat sits on the boards of the Los Cerritos Wetlands Authority, the Baldwin Hills Conservancy, and the Santa Monica Bay Restoration Commission.

BPC further recognizes Mr. Schuchat’s exemplary work in uniting diverse interests and stakeholders for his leadership role in the passage of Measure AA in 2016. An initiative first conceived in 2008 when the San Francisco Bay Restoration Authority was created, Measure AA passed eight years later with more than 70 percent of the vote throughout the Bay Area. Former Chairman of the Restoration Authority and now its Executive Director, Mr. Schuchat helped guide the campaign of the first ballot measure to include all nine counties. Measure AA will raise $500 million for wetland restoration in the next 20 years.

John A. Coleman, Chief Executive Officer of BPC, states, “Sam’s leadership brought together the business, environmental and science community in support of Measure AA. This important measure will help protect critical infrastructure assets and create additional wetlands, which will improve the environmental quality of life in our region for many years to come.”

“I am humbled and thrilled to join the august list of people who have received the Frank C. Boerger Award,” said Sam Schuchat, “The Bay Planning Coalition has long been a key partner for the Coastal Conservancy in San Francisco Bay, and this award is a great exclamation point on many years of collaboration.”

Mr. Schuchat is the 16th recipient of the Frank C. Boerger Award. Past recipients include Congressman John Garamendi, Barbara Kaufman, Alexis Strauss, Will Travis, Jack Broadbent, and Monique Moyer.

More information about the Spring Summit: This annual day-long event brings together over 400 leaders in industry, commerce and regional planning and infrastructure from across the wider Bay Area, including representatives from key corporations in the gas, construction and engineering sectors. It is also well attended by local, state and federal officials and by the nonprofit community. Tickets and sponsorships are still available. For more information, visit

About Bay Planning Coalition: Founded in 1983, BPC is a non-profit, 501(c)(4) membership-based organization that represents the interests of and convenes public and private entities involved in commerce, industry, infrastructure, recreation and the natural environment connect to the San Francisco Bay and its watershed. It has more than 150 members from across a range of relevant sectors, including business and industry, government, professional service firms, and various associations. Connect with BPC through Facebook, Twitter, and at our website.

BPC Media Contact:

John A. Coleman

Chief Executive Officer


Tags: ,