Bay Planning Coalition Announces 2014 Frank C. Boerger Award Recipient

  • by BPC Staff
  • on May 5, 2014

2009 header01



FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE                                    

May 5, 2014              


Bay Planning Coalition Announces 2014 Frank C. Boerger Award Recipient


Oakland, CA –  The Bay Planning Coalition (BPC) is pleased to announce that  R. Zachary Wasserman, a Partner at Oakland law firm Wendel, Rosen, Black & Dean and Chairman of the San Francisco Bay Conservation and Development Commission, will be the recipient of the 2014 Frank C. Boerger Award. 

BPC presents the Frank C. Boerger Award to an individual who appreciates the rigors of advocating environmental protection and economic progress, and forges the path to achieve both.  The award recipient is a person who is passionate in his convictions, balanced in his judgment, and talented in bringing diverse interests and stakeholders together to address the issues of environment and development.

In addition to being a leading attorney in Oakland, Wasserman is a longtime public servant and active member of the Bay Area community. In 2012, Wasserman was appointed by Governor Jerry Brown as Chair of the San Francisco Bay Conservation and Development Commission (BCDC).  Previously in his role as  General Counsel to the East Bay Economic Development Alliance, he played an integral role in negotiating with BCDC on the Bay Plan Amendment to address rising sea levels.  In addition, he serves as general counsel to the Alameda County Transportation Commission and represents both developers and government agencies in a wide range of real estate and land use matters. He is currently representing the Planning and Development Team hired by the City of Oakland, exploring how to create Coliseum City of Oakland, a proposed 132-acre sports and entertainment hub with sports facilities for all three existing teams  and related hotel, retail and commercial development.

John A. Coleman, Chief Executive Officer of the Bay Planning Coalition, said “Zack understands the need to balance economic needs and environmental interests, protecting the Bay while also supporting crucial development. This award is well deserved.”

“I am very honored to receive this award and join the many other Bay Area leaders who have followed in Frank Boerger’s footsteps,” said Wasserman. “I really accept this on behalf of the great work the BCDC staff and Commission are doing.  I look forward to continuing the effort to preserve our Bay and encourage important developments along the Bay – particularly those that help us adapt to the challenges of rising sea level in the Bay.”

Past recipients of the Award include: Loretta Barsamian, John Briscoe, Michael Cheney, Congressman John Garamendi, Ellen Johnck, Barbara Kaufman, Jim Levine, Sunne Wright McPeak, Angelo Siracusa, Alexis Strauss, Will Travis, and Robert Tufts.

Wasserman will receive the award at the Bay Planning Coalition’s 27th Annual Decision Makers Conference on May 16, 2014.  The Decision Makers Conference will be held at the Scottish Rite Center, at 1547 Lakeside Drive, in Oakland, California.  For more on the Decision Makers Conference, visit or call (510) 768-8310.

About Bay Planning Coalition: Founded in 1983, the Bay Planning Coalition (BPC) is a non-profit, membership-based organization representing public and private entities in the maritime industry and related shoreline businesses, ports and local governments, landowners, recreational users, labor unions, residential and commercial builders, environmental and business organizations, and professional service firms in engineering, construction, law, planning, and environmental sciences. The mission of the Bay Planning Coalition (BPC) is to work through a broad coalition, which will enhance the quality of life in the San Francisco Bay Region.



John Coleman
Bay Planning Coalition
(510) 768-8310