Redwood City Council: 3 Port Comissions Reappointed

  • News
  • by BPC Staff
  • on June 26, 2012

The Redwood City Council Monday night (June 25) reappointed three Port Commissioners to four-year terms.


Dick Claire, Chairman: 

He was first appointed to the Port Commission in July, 2007. He had served 21 years on the Redwood City Council, including four as mayor, and seven years on the Redwood City Planning Commission. Claire is a financial and accounting professor emeritus at Canada College in Redwood City, where he taught for 35 years and still occasionally teaches.


Ralph A. Garcia, Commissioner

He was first appointed to October 2005. He  owns a vacuum and sewing center in Redwood City. Like Dick Claire, Garcia served several years on the Planning Commission.  He has been chairman of both the Planning and Port Commissioners. He is active with the Optimist Club of Redwood City.


Lorianna Kastrop, Commissioner

She was first appointed to the Port Commission in July 2008. She is vice president and controller of The Kastrop Group, Inc. Architects. She is one of the organizers of the award-winning PortFest, an annual community event the first Saturday of each year. She is a former trustee of the Redwood City Elementary School District.