October 10–11, 2017 13th Biennial State of the San Francisco/Estuary Conference www.sfestuary.org/soe

CALL FOR NOMINATIONS

The Jean Auer Environmental Award

The San Francisco Estuary Partnership is seeking nominations of individuals for the Jean Auer Environmental Award. The award is given in memory of Jean Auer, a beloved Bay Area environmentalist whose groundbreaking efforts were directed particularly at improving water management in California. The award will be presented at the thirteenth biennial <u>State of the Estuary Conference</u>, October 10-11, 2017, at the Scottish Rite Center near Lake Merritt in Oakland.

Criteria for eligibility

Nominees from the public and private sector are eligible. Individuals should have made a significant contribution toward improving environmental quality in the Bay-Delta Estuary. Nominees working on water-related issues will receive special consideration.

How to submit a nomination

Nominations should include the name, address, phone number and e-mail address of the nominee, together with a onepage description of the nominee's accomplishments and rationale for her/his selection. Please include your own name and contact information. The San Francisco Estuary Partnership Selection Committee will make its decision in August, and nominees will be notified of the results in September.

Mail or e-mail nominations to:

Darcie Luce San Francisco Estuary Partnership 1515 Clay St., Suite 1400 Oakland, CA 94612 (510) 282-1254 (cell)

darcie.luce@sfestuary.org

Nominations must be received by 5:00 PM, Friday, July 28, 2017.

Past Recipients

Past recipients of the award include the late Zeke Grader, former Executive Director of the Institute for Fisheries Resources and Pacific Coast Federation of Fishermen's Associations; Dr. Howard Shellhammer, a longtime champion of the Bay Area's wetland and marsh ecosystems; the late Sylvia McLaughlin, co-founder of Save the Bay; Carl Wilcox, Bay Delta Regional Manager, California Department of Fish and Wildlife; Trish Mulvey, citizen activist with the Citizens Committee to Complete the Refuge; Tom Graff, attorney with Environmental Defense; Marcia Brockbank, former director of the San Francisco Estuary Project; and Will Travis, former executive director of the San Francisco Bay Conservation and Development Commission.