US EPA Energy Management Webcast Series for Water and Wastewater Utilities

Innovative Energy Conservation Measures at Wastewater Treatment Facilities

Webcast: Thursday, May 17, 2012

90 Minute audio Web broadcast

Eastern: 2:00 pm – 3:30 pm Central: 1:00 pm – 2:30 pm Mountain: 12:00 pm – 1:30 pm Pacific: 11:00 am – 12:30 pm

Registration

The webinar is free. Please register now at https://www3.gotomeeting.com/register/679203742

Description

Improving energy efficiency is an ongoing challenge for water sector utilities. While energy costs often represent 25–30% of a plant’s total O&M costs, they also represent the largest controllable cost of providing water and wastewater services. One key step for wastewater utilities to take to become more energy efficient is to evaluate and adopt innovative measures to conserve energy and move toward energy self-sufficiency.

The first part of this webcast will focus on energy conservation and self-sufficiency based on EPA’s 2010 document entitled Evaluation of Energy Conservation Measures (ECMs) for Wastewater Treatment Facilities. The second part of the webcast will focus on the successful implementation of various ECMs and energy recovery at the Sheboygan Regional Wastewater Treatment Plant in Wisconsin. Implementation of these cutting edge projects has enabled the facility to be well on its way to becoming energy self-sufficient.

Moderator

Jim Horne, US EPA Office of Wastewater Management

 

Speaker

Phil Zahreddine, Senior Technical Advisor, U.S. EPA Office of Wastewater Management

Dale Doerr, Wastewater Superintendent, Sheboygan Regional WWTP

 

For more information contact Jim Horne at (202) 564-0571 or horne.james@epa.gov